micro controller

olphart

Joined Sep 22, 2012
Howdy, too bad you want that. Motorola (Freescale now) DELIBERATELY makes it nigh onto Impossible for you to take someone elses' IP. Being a coder I applaud their efforts. You'll have to find another way.

Also, even a raw disassembly of the code would be Extremely Difficult to trace, let alone modify/document/understand. Especially if compiled from C. BTDT... shot down in flames <<<)))

P.S. rule of reverse engineering: by the time you've reversed someone elses' work/IP, you've built it yourself at least 2-3 times (unless you just don't know how).

Last edited:

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
P.S. rule of reverse engineering: by the time you've reversed someone elses' work/IP, you've built it yourself at least 2-3 times (unless you just don't know how).
When you simply want to copy the thing instead of reverse engineering it it gets much easier than that.
Thankfully all programmable chip manufacturers have ways of locking the contents, and unless the manufacturer of the thing you want to copy is stupid enough to leave the protection open you stand no chance.

There may be other ways of getting the code, but it sill is cheaper and faster to write it again than to try to hack the thing. I mean you could theoretically decap the IC and find where the fuse is and somehow change it, but that is a whole lot harder than rewriting the code from scratch. Or you could spend years with differential power analysis and get some portions of the code out.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
Depending on the amount of time and money you have to expend you have some chances to defeat the built in security. They involve dissolving the package with toxic chemicals, using an optical microscope, and microprobing the actual chip. Only a well funded company or government could afford this level of effort.

http://www.cl.cam.ac.uk/~sps32/mcu_lock.html

A starting budget for the effort might run say half a million USD. You got that kind of scratch?