Micro-controller + RF module for Capsule Size circuit

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by zetinal34, Mar 21, 2012.

1. zetinal34

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 21, 2012
    Hi all,

I am currently doing the project on gas sensor capsule.
    I'm very new to micro-controller and rf module.
    I really need help and advice on what micro-controller and transceiver I should use for this project

The requirements are as below
    -Small dimension (Both micro-controller and transceiver)
    - Low power
    - Transmission frequency = 400MHz band (It is safe for human tissue as I know, I'm not sure 2.4GHz will be ok or not)
    - be able to control and manage data from sensors (around 4 sensors)

From the research I did, I found that there are some system on chip (SoC) available. It looks convenient, However, it can't be program unless I have the development kits. I only have budget around $200 which is not enough for some development kits. (Please advice if there is other way)

Can someone please give recommendation for the chips in this case? I have done some arduino project, so I'm familiar with C/C++, it would be better if I can develop using C language.

Any advice is appreciated.

Thank you very much.

Last edited: Mar 21, 2012
  2. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
  3. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
  4. zetinal34

Mar 21, 2012
    Thx a lot guys

The device will be pill size. as small as possible in this case.

I checked out the links and really interested in PIC12LF1840T48A

it is really small and has radio module integrated.

Could you guys give me some basic guide to start on?
    I will need the development kit correct? which one should I go for..
    What other part I should be looking for..
    My understanding is getting the chip to be programmed by development kit then take the chip and mount it to PCB right?

Please give me advice, I am really new to this thing

THank you very much

5. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009