Merry Xmas!!

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Skfir, Dec 25, 2010.

  1. Skfir

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Aug 19, 2010
    135
    4
    Merry xmas everyone!
    Just wish all of us good health and good luck!
     
  2. Dave

    Retired Moderator

    Nov 17, 2003
    6,960
    145
    And to you too :)

    Thanks for your continued vetting of the ebook material over the last year.

    Dave
     
  3. bertus

    Administrator

    Apr 5, 2008
    15,648
    2,348
    Hello,

    Merry christmas to all of you.

    Bertus
     
  4. TO2

    Member

    Jun 19, 2009
    26
    0
    Merry Christmas
     
  5. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Merry Christmas.
    [​IMG]

    I think I might be getting myself
    a new computer for Christmas. All
    mine will do is this:
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2010
  6. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    Ahhh.. Theres the problem

    It has the M-i-c-r-o-s-o-f-t problem.

    I hope you can recover! ;)

    Merry Christmas
     
  7. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Ah, it's a merry Christmas again. Finally found a system restore point that worked. I was pretty close to reinstalling. Going to celebrate with a rooster curry, some lagers and a mince pie with custard.
     
  8. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,517
    785
    Seeing this, gives me a rash...
     
  9. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Gives me more of a headache, maybe I should get round to installing a penguin on my computer instead.
     
  10. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,517
    785
    :D

    What is keeping you to stick with Microsoft Windows?

    My first fiddling with Linux was back in 1995. Red Hat 6.something. After that, it got stuck on my computer. Although I must admit, that I run Microsoft Windows XP on a single computer. Its for MBLAB and PIC programming. The rest is in Linux. Mostly Ubuntu.
     
  11. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    You've kind of already said my reason. I got some programs and games that are windows only, so I can't switch to Linux completely. Running 2 systems just seems like harder work than 1 and I've got a few spare PCs that I can use for fixing whichever one Windows commits suicide on next.
     
  12. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,517
    785
    You could dual-boot.

    One for Linux and one for gaming. (One for business and one for pleasure). :)
     
  13. retched

    AAC Fanatic!

    Dec 5, 2009
    5,201
    312
    I would check to see if your windows-only programs run on linux or not.

    MPlab runs on ubuntu.

    Arduinos programming environment..

    Windows ;)

    Between WINE and VirtualBOX or Xwindows, you should be fine.

    Dual boot is an option.

    BE SURE to give yourself enough partition space for linux.

    I made the mistake of not giving my linux partition enough space. Then you forget about windows, until you run out of hard drive space!
    en
    You WILL be impressed with the boost in speed of your system. Even if you install it onto a 400mhz box.
     
  14. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,517
    785
    Consider this....:

    [​IMG]

    :D
     
  15. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    This is pretty funny. After system restore everything was working fine, but then there was a windows update and I'm right back where I started. I guess I'll have to disable updates if I get it running again.
    Now system restore is broken, I'm beginning to think that maybe I have bad sectors or a memory problem.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  16. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,766
    2,536
    When you get it working again, make complete backups.
     
  17. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Good call, I'm back in and burning DVDs at the moment. It's not getting rebooted until I'm done and then if I get any more problems I can just reinstall. Luckily I've got plenty of time on my hands.
     
  18. maxpower097

    Well-Known Member

    Feb 20, 2009
    795
    388
    .......................................................
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2011
  19. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    It's a legit preinstalled one on a compaq. Means I didn't get the DVD but there is a restore factory settings option as a last resort, which I think does a full reinstall from a partition on the drive. I'll check first.
     
  20. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Could take a while.....


    [​IMG]
     
Loading...