Membrane Pot Mega Problem

trad3mark

Joined May 11, 2008
Hey all,
Ok, so i'm planing a new guitar build at the moment. But in it, i'm looking into replacing the standard pots with membrane ones. That's being massively optimistic, i know, and it's asking for problems right from the start. I'm a bit of a beginner when it comes to circutry, like i know the basics, but thats about it. So here's where i stand.

Basically, i need two pots. A 250k ohm one, and a 500k ohm one. I can have membrane versions of these made, but at $2000 a pop, thats out. HOWEVER, i can get two 10k ohm ones for about $20 each. Now, obviously 10k is a long way off 250k. So my new problem is, is there a way i can use a 10k ohm, in place of the 500k or 250k. Like can i put extra resistors in or something?? or does anyone have any other suggestion as to how i could have a touch controled variable resistance of 250k/500k.

thanks all.
tm

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You can get free samples at Spectra:
http://www.spectrasymbol.com/typo3/site/en/quotes-samples.html

Sparkfun Electronics has membrane pots for $15/ea when you buy singles:
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=8607

Pots are usually used to select a voltage or signal between two levels. I have no idea why you need a resistance that high. Is it to match the input impedance of an amplifier?

Will there be power available inside the guitar? (I really don't know; I've never had an electric guitar myself.)

trad3mark

Joined May 11, 2008
the pots are like mediators to control the Volume and Tone between the pickups and the amplifier. They have no power source. The guitar basically goes pickups > pots > amplifier. Basically, my problem really is, can i convert a 10k ohm pot into a 250k ohm pot?

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
Wow, I had to do some Googling to find out about these things. It's a bit ironic to see that they are supposed to be more economical than standard pots.