Media Cabinet cooling circuit help!!

philipsbe

Joined Aug 9, 2011
I am a newbie here and last time I did something with a circuit was in grad school. I am trying to build a simple circuit and can use your help.

Problem: Controling voltage so that the current is passed when certain threshold (for voltage) is reached.

I am using AerolCool Touch 1000, a fan controller which controls speed of a 12V PC fan. The issue is that the fan is always on, it is either running at slow speed (RPM) or high speed when the temperature is hot.
I need to introduce some thing in the circuit (between fan controller and 12 V fan) so that the fan comes on when certain limit (read temperature) is reached .

I believe that the aerocool is simply controlling voltage and keeps on increasing or decreasing the voltage beased on temperature.

Any help is appreciated.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
My first instinct is to use a mechanical switch. One brand is "Klixon".

Do you have any reason that 10 F degrees dead band is too much?
If not, keep it simple.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
I'm not understanding the problem. :confused:

The fan needs to maintain a certain airflow through the enclosure even when it's relatively cool, or else the fan controller may be too slow in detecting that the enclosure is warming up. Keeping the air moving ensures that the fan controller gets airflow past it, so that the fan will respond more quickly when the temp is rising.

Some older Dell computer fans had the fan speed control incorporated directly into the fan itself; a thermistor monitored the temp of the air flowing into the fan from the CPU heat sink. The fan had to always be rotating in order to sense the temp of the CPU. The system worked quite well.

Last edited:

philipsbe

Joined Aug 9, 2011
I'm not understanding the problem. :confused: