Mechanic+high voltage circuit= please help!

barefootstu

Joined Nov 17, 2010
I've recently started learning some basic electronics but I'm just starting out and haven't fully grasped all of the theories or component functions yet.

My buddy runs an automotive carburetor repair shop where I am employed/apprenticing. We have an older industrial sized ultra sonic cleaner that recently quit working.
New, this machine cost thousands of dollars and I am really really hoping to get it working again as it is very useful for cleaning delicate parts and we can't afford to replace it. Were using a smaller unit to get by, but it is no where near large enough to house the larger pieces we work on.
So any help will be greatly appreciated!

About the machine:
Everything functions on the control panel, and all the switches show correct voltage on the volt meter, but the ultra sonic 'transducer' doesn't function because the power generator box keeps blowing fuses. (8amp 250volt glass tube type).
I did a really bad thing and put a 15amp 250volt fuse in it and caused got a really good POP!.
The bridge rectifier blew (as is evidenced by the black marks on the circuit board...).
At this point I know I have to replace the blown bridge rectifier and possibly the transformer placed next to it on the circuit as it has some black marks on it aswell. :(

Heres the box that is inside the machine. The dials are preset at the factory and you can't see this box without removing the side panel and exposing the relays and what not.

Here is the beginning of the device: the top of the photo is the power cord (120 volt) inlet and the fuse holder. The wires run to a on/off switch and split off to the cooling fan (115 volt) and the board you see in the photo with the round doo hickey, some capacitor looking things and the big coil. the black and white leads continue out from this circuit to another circuit board mounted on a large heat sink.