Measuring the transfer function of a "black box"

zvir

Joined Oct 22, 2012
Hi, people.

I'm a physics student, and currently I'm measuring some stuff in the lab, and I have hit a wall, and would kindly ask for help. So, my problem is as follows: I am using a certain measurement device (Agilent RLC meter, not sure about the exact model; it measures R and X components of the complex impedance [or |Z|-θ, whatever]) to measure the electrical properties of certain samples. However, there is a cryostat between the sample and the measurement device, and it's influence on the signal can't be neglected. I am attaching a crude 'schematic' of my measurement system.

So, I need to find a way to get the cryostat out of my measurements. It's impedance is too complex to approximate with some replacement circuit. I am not at all interested in it's properties or internal structure. What I have is a few sets of complex impedance measurements where the DUT is a known resistor, in [20Hz, 30kHz] range.

What I need now is a way to process the data raw data I get off my measurement device, in order to remove the 'black box' in the middle. I believe the best way to do it is to construct a transfer function of the box, but I don't know how to do it from the measurements I have. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance to everyone. :)

P.S. please forgive my limited drawing skills.

Attachments

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
use a non reactive load on the measured side of the cryostat, if you model the cryostat, you should be able to subrtact its effects from your measurements.

MrAl

Joined Jun 17, 2014
Hi,

What do you mean that "it's impedance is too complex to approximate with some replacement circuit". That's the whole idea of getting to the point where you can write out some equations that will reduce to the character of the device under test.
Do you have any data or model number of the device between your measurement unit and your device under test?