measure motor current

duxbuz

Joined Feb 23, 2014
Hi

Being a complete novice I see lots of stuff about current and to be honest often have very little understanding how it is calculated, bar measuring in series.

I have some small motors and I wondered what is the best way to work out the current they draw.

I read somewhere that you can measure the resistance of the motor then use ohms law to work out the current.

Is this how its done?

Or should it be done by creating a circuit and using a multimeter?

Thanks

duxbuz

Joined Feb 23, 2014
Ok I get 1280mA for one of my little unbranded motors.

The resistance was only 2.8 Ohms.

My batteries measured at 3.6V.

For a 4v Lego motor I got 34mA, using the same batteries. Its resistance was 105 Ohms.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You cannot use the motor resistance for current draw, this depends on the motor load and the degree of BEMF generated related to motor rpm.
Max.

duxbuz

Joined Feb 23, 2014
Ok, so back to my question how would current be ascertained? Would this have to be from a datasheet?

When posting questions regarding motors people often ask for that value so they can help answer my questions.

ErnieHorning

Joined Apr 17, 2014
Actually the best way is to add a very low resistance (around .1 Ω) in series with the motor and measure the voltage on the resistor with an oscilloscope and apply ohms law to get the current. You might be surprised to see that it’s not a flat value.

The easiest way to get temporary .1 Ω resistor is just to use a piece of wire. Measure it with a good meter and don’t forget to add in the resistance of your meter wires.

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
if you use your multimeter or dvm to measure current, be sure you put it in series with the motor, and start at a high range, switching down till you get a good reading. NEVER PLACE AN AMPMETER ACROSS THE LOAD!!!! all that will tell you is wither how long it takes to burn out your meter or how much your supply will put out.