Masters Degree in Nanotech

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by O'Fithcheallaigh, Mar 16, 2011.

1. O'Fithcheallaigh

Thread Starter Member

Sep 15, 2010
    Hello,

I hope it is okay to post this here.

I am a final year engineering undergraduate, and I am considering doing a Masters in Nanotechnology in September.

So, I am wondering what people on here think about someones prospects with a degree like this. I am asking because I am getting mixed messages from my current lecturers. Some think it is a good idea, other, including one in particular, thinks I am stupid to even consider it.

So, to this end, I am hoping to get some input from other engineers etc., so if you have any thoughts, I would love to hear them.

Thanks in advance.

Seán

2. loosewire

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 25, 2008
    Go to any of the web sites of the major companies,
    If you know what you are doing and can produce
    the world is at your feet. If you have a lot book learning
    and not able to apply it ,Its worthless In the job market.

3. magnet18

Dec 22, 2010
    I'm just a high school kid, but I would assume that is you're interested in nano-tech, go for it!
    If not, don't, because I'm pretty sure something like that is going to suck unless you love it.

Why are your prof's telling you not to?

4. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    One of the problems I suspect is not too many people have heard of it. I haven't. What kind of background does it take?

5. O'Fithcheallaigh

Thread Starter Member

Sep 15, 2010
    Hello,

Well, my background is just your normal electronics degree. You don't need to do anything extra at an undergrad level to do a nanotechnology masters. Some undergrad courses will maybe bring elements of nanotechnology, but mine doesn't.