mask project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by keithg, May 21, 2012.

1. keithg

Thread Starter Active Member

Jan 17, 2009
    I am an artist making a series of masks made of Fisher Price toys. These include a board with sound, LEDs, and motors. I want to use four or five with each mask from a single 12v battery and one speaker. I have made the 386 amplifier but have failed to make a successful power source after hours and hours of experimenting and searching web resources. The 7812 regulator is fine but the toy circuit/amp circuit are not. I am trying to power the 386 amplifier circuit and the toy from two of the trimmers. When using the batteries native to the toy the circuit runs as expected directly to the amplifier circuit. Any advise would be appreciated.

2. milesguidon

Dec 4, 2010
    Do you know the required voltages of each of the circuits you are trying to power?

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    It would be very helpful if you could sketch a schematic or even block diagram of what you are doing.

4. keithg

Jan 17, 2009
    I assume the voltage can be known simply by the battery case of each toy. Sorry, a schematic is beyond my skill level. Here is a rough drawing that may help. Thanks.

5. milesguidon

Dec 4, 2010
  6. keithg

Jan 17, 2009
    I will have five of these toys to power. May I simply tap off the same line with 5 of the regulators you describe for each one?

7. milesguidon

Dec 4, 2010
    You only need one regulator to provide the 8V or the 3V--unless you're drawing a lot of current. The current that the linear regulator can provide has to be *greater* than the sum of the currents required by everything you put on the output of the regulator.

The regulators I posted can only provide 100mA and 50mA. You might search on digikey for Linear regulators (LDO) that provide ~1A or 500mA, so you can use many toys on one regulator.

8. keithg

Jan 17, 2009
    Thanks for the help. I will search for the regulator.

9. keithg