Mark and Space Ratio for Pulse width modulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeoWilson

Joined Oct 3, 2014
Why does tech use Mark & Space Ratio for Pulse width modulation measurements?

When does a tech measure the mark & space time duration for what type of circuits or applications?

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Could this be a homework question where you know the background because you just read the chapter, but we didn't?

LeoWilson

Joined Oct 3, 2014
What is the advantage of measuring pulse trains waveforms using mark & space measurements compared to duty cycle, time period, pulse width?

What circuits or applications do you measure using Mark & Space ratios? for TTL or CMOS circuits?

LeoWilson

Joined Oct 3, 2014
As a Tech, I have only measured for TTL and CMOS circuits is the time period, pulse width, duty cycle.

When would I want to measure a TTL or CMOS waveform and use the mark & space ratio? when is this used and what is it used for?

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
Mark & space measurements are used in transmission circuits to check for modulation distortion of digital signals.

LeoWilson

Joined Oct 3, 2014
Mark & space measurements are used in transmission circuits to check for modulation distortion of digital signals.
But why do they use Mark and space measurements?

How does mark and space measurement tell the modulation distortion? i'm guessing pulse width, time period, duty cycle doesn't check for the modulation distortion of why is that?

Doesn't the time period, pulse width, duty cycle already give the same results or is it different and how so?

I'm new to this mark & space measurements, i'm not sure what it really is and how it's different and when it's used and why it's used

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
But why do they use Mark and space measurements?

How does mark and space measurement tell the modulation distortion? i'm guessing pulse width, time period, duty cycle doesn't check for the modulation distortion of why is that?