Many LEDs on portable power

Medowin

Joined Jun 23, 2010
Hello!

I am a complete noob to electrical circuits and I am in need of some practical advice.

I am currently interested in making a craft project that involves a prop sword illuminated with LEDs. The sword will have roughly 120 LEDs embedded into it and I'm not quite certain the best route to hooking them up. Here are the stats to the LEDs I'm using (all identical):

Size (mm) : 5mm
forward Voltage: 2.2v
Lens Color : Water Clear
Reverse Current (uA) : <=30
Life Rating : 100,000 Hours
Viewing Angle : 180 Degrees
Absolute Maximum Ratings (Ta=25°C)
Max Power Dissipation : 80mw
Max Continuous Forward Current : 24mA
Max Peak Forward Current : 75mA
Reverse Voltage : 5~6V
Lead Soldering Temperature : 240°C (<5Sec)
Operating Temperature Range : -25°C ~ +85°C
Preservative Temperature Range : -30°C ~ +100°C

Here are my concerns:

*Since the sword prop is held in hand, it needs a portable power source such as a typical 12v battery or something similar. It needs to be illuminated for roughly 12 hours. I don't mind changing out batteries from time to time but it needs to be somewhat practical. What would be an easy solution?

*From what I've read on this forum running LEDs in parallel is "bad", but I don't see how else I could hook this many LEDs up in a handheld battery power source. Is it do-able to run them all in a single parallel, even if it's not optimal? Also, the LEDs will all be located on a single long column, so I'm not free to circuit things just anywhere or in any shape.

*If it is indeed possible to run them all in a parallel, would it only require one resistor? If more than one should be added, in what quantity and in what locations should they be placed?

*Is it unacceptable to solder a wire to the battery itself? I'm unsure of how else to hook them up to the battery, outside of just taping the wire to it with electrical tape. :p