making your own printed board

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ddickey, Feb 8, 2012.

  1. ddickey

    Thread Starter Member

    Sep 28, 2011
    55
    1
    Has anyone had experience with printing your circuit off of multisim onto magazine paper then ironing that onto a sheet of copper?
     
  2. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
  3. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,535
    Nerdegutta pointed out my thread,

    How I make PCBs

    I like wax paper because it is a lot cheaper than magazines, and pretty effective. The basic techniques are similar though.

    I may eventually end up gong to photographic methods for the same reasons though. Double sided alignment is a major pain.
     
  4. K7GUH

    Member

    Jan 28, 2011
    191
    23
    I will watch your progress with considerable interest. I'm not rich enough to hire someone to do onesie-twosie quantities, and most of the circuits I'd like to build aren't suitable to dead-bug assembly.
     
  5. ddickey

    Thread Starter Member

    Sep 28, 2011
    55
    1
    If someone wants to convert my schematics to a pcb design I'll give you a few bucks for your time. I just can't seem to get it to work. For instance, I can't find a schematic for a 3 digit 7 segemtn display. Or when I do get soemthing put together there are errors all over and I can't figure out how to fix them.
     
  6. spinnaker

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    Actually nothing is cheaper than using the tons of junk mail that you get every day. I get one magazine type that is the perfect 8x10 size, I don't ev3en have to adjust the printer.

    I have had mixed results with wax paper but I do like the fact that you can see through it making it easier to line up.

    How does the photographic method make it easier to align then toner transfer method? Seems that would be pretty much the same or is it the slight distortion of the transfer that makes two sided more challenging?
     
  7. spinnaker

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    It's no fun if someone else does it. Take a look at Express PCB and Express Schematic. Both very easy to use. There is probably better software out there but the learning curve is going to be greater.

    7 segment displays are fairly simple.

    http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_6/chpt_7/9.html

    The article uses a BCD-to-7seg latch/decoder/driver but I have used shift registers. There are several ways you can drive them.
     
  8. ddickey

    Thread Starter Member

    Sep 28, 2011
    55
    1
    Yes but if I'm trying to draw a schematic and the software doesn't support that component.
     
  9. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    What are you trying to draw/make?
     
  10. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,535
    I use PCB Express. I have made many components from scratch for my library, both for the schematic and the physical part. We can probably help, depending on the software.
     
  11. spinnaker

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988

    Which software? Express Schematic? Gee I didn't know that. I wonder why they call it Express Schematic and how I got it to draw schematics? :rolleyes:
     
  12. ddickey

    Thread Starter Member

    Sep 28, 2011
    55
    1
    Heart rate monitor
     
  13. magnet18

    Senior Member

    Dec 22, 2010
    1,232
    124
    in express PCB, or eagle?
    You can create your own parts in eagle.
     
  14. ddickey

    Thread Starter Member

    Sep 28, 2011
    55
    1
    I tried but didn't work. It was so frustrating I just said screw it and shut off the computer. No I'm reconsidering as the project would look nice on board.
     
  15. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    We've all been down that road. At least I have. :) Where do you need help?
     
  16. ddickey

    Thread Starter Member

    Sep 28, 2011
    55
    1
    I'm going to downlaod express PCB and try again here in a few minutes. I've tried so many i can't remember. I have multisim and Ultiboard. Is this worth pursueing?
     
  17. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    Is it the 3 digit 7 segment that is bugging you?

    Is it possible to use 3 separate DIL 14 sockets?
     
  18. ddickey

    Thread Starter Member

    Sep 28, 2011
    55
    1
    Yes it is. WHen you build the schematic should you do straight connections going over other components?
     
  19. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    Don't cross wires over components. One of the goals for a schematic, is to be clear, simple*, and easy to read.

    *simple = according to what the drawn device is supposed to to.

    And if your schematic program has any kind of error checking - use it!

    I use Eagle and use the Electrical Rule Check all the time.
     
  20. spinnaker

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 29, 2009
    4,866
    988
    You can create your own parts in Express too.
     
    magnet18 likes this.
Loading...