Making your own phone ring?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Mathematics!, Jun 15, 2009.

  1. Mathematics!

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2008
    1,022
    4
    I am a comcast customer and I was wondering if anybody knows how to make their phone ring?

    I have VOIP.

    Is their a particular three digit number that you have to dial and then hang the phone up or something.

    Anybody know how?
     
  2. Externet

    AAC Fanatic!

    Nov 29, 2005
    758
    57
    I know nothing about Comcast; but a regular telephone can be made to ring applying 110V AC -60 Hz for a second or two if on-hook and connected to nothing else. An isolation transformer could be better, but if not, caution as you may get shocked.

    If the handset is lifted, the telephone will fry instantly.

    Telephone companies seem that have deleted their ringback number once used by their field technicians to test ringers, but you can call your service provider technical support and ask for it. Perhaps they have one.

    -----------------------------------------/\/\/\/\/\/--------------------------------Tel
    110VAC
    60Hz
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------Tel

    /\/\/\/\/ = 10 K Ohm for about 1 REN

    Miguel
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2009
  3. Mathematics!

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2008
    1,022
    4
    yeah , I am kind of more looking for a ringback number or something.

    I don't want to do the 110volt ac thing.

    They must have something. Or else what happens if the phone line gets cut they still have to have a ringback on hand for each phone just in cases.:confused:
     
  4. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,764
    2,534
    And a good thing, I have heard worse advise, but not often! This is dangerous, and you are definately overvolting the phone. 60V P-P would do it, I think 90V is the max rating. Last I heard it was at 20Hz too.
     
  5. gerty

    AAC Fanatic!

    Aug 30, 2007
    1,153
    304
    I've not tried this in a few years, but we used to be able to dial our own number and hang up fast. The phone would ring about 4-5 times, than qiut.
    Give it a try, it's free.
     
  6. radiohead

    Active Member

    May 28, 2009
    474
    31
    It used to be that when you dialled your own number, you'd get a busy signal, then when you hung up, you would get a ring-back.
     
  7. AlexR

    Well-Known Member

    Jan 16, 2008
    735
    54
    What's more if you happen to fry some poor technician who is working on the line when you do this you could be be charged with murder.

    Connecting the phone line to the mains is illegal in most countries.
     
  8. hwy101

    Active Member

    May 23, 2009
    91
    28
    That still works in my area, don't know about the rest of Canada.
     
  9. Mathematics!

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2008
    1,022
    4
    Comcast in my area said they don't provide this service yet.
    They use to with comcast digital voice previously but not any more apparently.

    Previously you had to dial a 3 digit code that depended on your area code and then hang up the phone.

    Thanks for the reply's though.

    The service rep said they will probably have this service again someday.

    By
     
  10. Mathematics!

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jul 21, 2008
    1,022
    4
    Comcast in my area said they don't provide this service yet.
    They use to with comcast digital voice previously but not any more apparently.

    Previously you had to dial a 3 digit code that depended on your area code and then hang up the phone.

    Thanks for the reply's though.

    The service rep said they will probably have this service again someday.

    By the ringing is 90 volt ac at 20hz I saw alot of previous posts say 110 or something.
     
  11. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,764
    2,534
    Which is what we were talking about. 110VAC is a VERY bad idea. 90V is the absolute max, and it is supposed to be 20 Hz. You may be able to get your phone to ring with very low voltage, if you are willing to try an experiment. I suspect the 20Hz is more important nowdays. The old system used a double bell arangement, where the clapper went between them, and was resonant to 20Hz. Something similar to what a lot of alarm bells use.

    I wonder if a 555 20Hz square wave oscillator would work, I suspect it would.

    For the record, he wasn't talking about connecting AC to the phone line, but to the phone, which is totally different.
     
  12. Zenock

    Active Member

    Jun 1, 2009
    36
    1
    How is you PHONE connected to your network? Which device do you use? Do you have access to it. Depending on the device, you may be able to log into it and instruct it to make your phone ring.

    Z
     
Loading...