Making a torch flicker via remote control

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Juji, Sep 10, 2013.

1. Juji

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 10, 2013
    Hi, I'm very new to electronics/engineering, although I study physics so I understand the basic principles.

Some friends and I are planning to do a sort of live-action Slenderman game on one of my friends' farm. In the actual game, you walk around with a torch trying to find pages of a notebook along with other clues. You carry around a torch since all this takes place in a forest.

When Slenderman is close to you, or if you are looking in his general direction, your torch flickers. The closer he is, the more pronounced the flickering.

In the live-action version we are planning, three of us will take the role of Slenderman, trying to "catch" whoever is playing.

To try to live up as much to the game as possible, I want to try and make it so that we can control the torch via some sort of remote control. Obviously if one of the Slendermen wants to get close, we want to try and make the torch flicker, i.e. turn it on and off erratically using the remote control.

It doesn't matter if the player is able to turn on/off the torch themselves, whatever is easier to design. Also, 3 controls need to be made to work with the same torch. Also, we don't really need to be able to turn it on and off, just sending a signal to make the torch flicker a bit would be fine.

Is this even possible, and if so, how can I go about trying to make one, or even adapt a regular torch to do it? Also if you know that this type of device already exists, please send me in that direction as I've been unable to find any.

2. sirch2

Jan 21, 2013