Making a light switch

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Quillion, Dec 28, 2009.

1. Quillion

Thread Starter Member

Jul 18, 2009
    So I am currently trying to make light operated alarm clock, and I already managed to get the most annoying noises possible using 2 piezo buzzers and 2 555 timers, but now I need the switch that would activate the alarm.
    So here is where I am stuck.
    How would I get a photoresistor to act as a switch without the use of microcontroller?
    I need it in such a way that when it reaches certain light level, then electricity will pass, and if its dark then it does not output any electricity.
    I did some research and found out I have to use PNP transistor, but I am still stumped and have no idea how to use it, please help me
    Thanks to everyone in advance who helps

2. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009
    I'm just a noob too but did some searching for you and found this.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/23891342/Photoresistor-Transistor-and-LED-s

If it is higher current and voltage you want to switch on and off then you could replace the LED with a solid state relay (which is actually a LED to control the "switch").

Hopefully one of the more experience forum members will weigh in and I have not set you too far astray. :)

3. VoodooMojo

Nov 28, 2009
    hundreds of circuits that will accomplish this on the web.

with LDR:

this one is even animated.
    http://www.technologystudent.com/elec1/lgtdrk1.htm

or with photo transistor

[​IMG]

R1: 100K Pot
    Q1: 2N3904 NPN Transistor or 2N2222
    Q2: NPN Phototransistor
    RELAY: 9V Relay
    MISC: Board, Wire, 9V Battery Snap (if battery used), Knob For R1

4. Quillion

Thread Starter Member

Jul 18, 2009
    Thanks a lot to everyone for your amazing help, it was very very awesome and I managed to build it very well, now I wake up every time with the sun, which is perfect since all my uni classes are in the mornings:p