Make a Diff op amp or just get one like ina111

Deke

Joined Jan 19, 2009
Hi,

Ok I'm a newbie to op amp circuits, but I want to make an differential op amp for improving control of a cylinder (hyd) that is connected to a linear transducer with an output of (0 to 10V).

Currenlty I'm donig the close loop in the PLC even with a low scan rate of 3ms obviously is still not fast enough.

So I thought why not use a differential op amp and let the op amp do the close loop control based on the transducer position (0-10V) and the command signal (0-10V)

Now I have read a lot articles about this and viewed many circuits and also have seen chips (dip) that have all of the resistors and everything already in the chip such as the TI INA111

The analog output signal of the command is is at 75mA and 250mA of the linear transducer.

Oh ya one more thing I would to use a dual output DC_DC Converter to supply the op amp with the +15 & -15V from a 24v soruce.

Any suggestions from the experts here?

Thanks,
Deke

beenthere

Joined Apr 20, 2004
One of the best references to have concerning op amp circuits is the National Semiconductor op amp circuit collection. Follow the link - http://www.national.com/JS/searchDocument.do?textfield=an-31&x=31&y=12 - and select the AN-31 document.

On page 14 is the stuff you want. It shows how to make an instrumentation amp using three or four op amps. It won't be as precise as an INA111, but it may do nicely for your application.

If all you need is the voltage difference between the command and the sensor position, the instrument amp should do fine.

Digi-Key has the Dc-DC converter - http://onlinecatalog.digikey.com/WebProject.asp?BookCode=dik08flx#. Look in the NDH series for the 24 volt input/+/- 15 @ 100 ma output. It's $17.90.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Wait a minute - if you want instrumentation amplifiers, you'll be far better off buying them instead of trying to build them from individual opamps.