Mains AC Voltage Polarity Poser

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by GARYN, Apr 24, 2010.

1. GARYN

Thread Starter Member

Sep 4, 2009
    Hello i am an electrical/mechanical engineer in a food production factory with limited electronics knowledge.....
    I just fixed a fault on an external lighting circuit (sodium fittings) which when one of the fittings (fitted by previous elec.) was reconnected would pop the circuit fuse. I expected to find water in the fitting or a blown choke, but all was good. The only problem i found was the mains was connected the wrong way i.e L to N and vice versa, (both cables were black).
    This is where your electronic knowledge would be helpful, i know that if you connect a heater coil for example the polarity does not effect the function. I was wondering on AC circuits in general not just the above fittings what electronic components when added to the circuit can pop the fuse if the polarity is wrong and why. For example is it the igniter module causing the fuse to blow in the lightfitting and why, as i cant see the polarity having any effect on the choke or lamp.....
    I am sure this is obvious to you experts but any explanations would be appreciated..... Thanks in advance..:confused:

2. Bychon

Mar 12, 2010
    All components (or none of them) will pop the circuit breaker when the hot line (L) is connected to neutral. Neutral is ground. Connecting the hot wire to ground is a short circuit.

The lamp doesn't care about polarity (as you correctly said). The short is not going through the lamp circuit.

3. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    If there is gfci on the breaker, when it sees more than ~4ma in neutral, it will trip. You may be getting this after the igniter cuts off.

4. GARYN

Thread Starter Member

Sep 4, 2009