Main voltage and perfboards

snowbarrr

Joined Dec 3, 2010
This is my first project working with main voltage, so I apologize if the questions are kind of dumb!

I'm planning on using a relay to control power to a lightbulb, and the relay I have would fit nicely on my perboard, along with the control circuitry. This seems dangerous to me -

Can a perfboard with standard spacing handle 120Vac? Can you solder to a 120Vac wire? Is it safe to place 5V control circuitry on the same perfboard as 120Vac circuitry?

I'm under-rating the relay I'm using (30A @ 220V), are there any other safety precautions/considerations I should be thinking about?

Any recommendations or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
where did you find a relay that can handle 30 amps at 220volts AC and is triggered by 5 volts?

Any copper wire can be soldered, even ones that carry 120VAC. Just be sure the voltage is not in the wire when you apply the soldering iron :)

snowbarrr

Joined Dec 3, 2010
rvh002:
I haven't drawn anything up. Since my questions were mainly about handling the large AC voltage, I didn't think the control circuitry would be relevant. If your interested, basically, I have an IR receiver that will give me a 1 when certain pattern is received. I'm using that to drive an NPN (because the receiver only drives 20mA, and the relay needs 80mA) that will connect one side of the relay coil to ground when activated. The other side of the relay coil is connected to 5V. I have a diode between the two sides of the coil for protection when the coil deactivates to ensure the current flows back to vcc. I was planning on connecting the contacts of the relay across the 120Vac line in normally closed configuration (the relay is spdt) so the power would be on by default. I'm sorry there is no diagram - I hope you can get an idea from the explaination.

Kermit2: