LTC3115-2 regulator circuit

jakeke

Joined Sep 11, 2014
I have designed a regulator circuit but the switching regulator stopped working.

Specs:
  • 12 VDC input
  • 32 VDC output
  • ~50 mA output current
  • Boost mode
  • 800 kHz switching frequency
  • 0.625 duty cycle
Datasheet

Schematic:
Board:

When powering the circuit for the first time it started "ringing" (hearing low f. noise). After running some tests the regulator stopped to take current (The measured output voltage was 32V though). I am not a professional analog circuit designer so my design might have problems.

Some suggestions why the circuit doesn't work:
  • Compensation network design
I calculated the component values according to the datasheet, but I am not sure if those are right. Although I simulated the circuit with LTspice and it gave a proper transient analysis.
  • board layout
I am not familiar with Kelvin grounds etc. so there might be something to adjust.

However the connections are good since I soldered and double-checked them myself (Experienced with SMA).

If you have any suggestions or you can help me with the compensation network, please reply.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
At 800kHz the layout and decoupling is critical. Did you follow all the layout and decoupling suggestions in the data sheet? Is it a PCB layout as shown in Fig 16 with a solid ground plane?

jakeke

Joined Sep 11, 2014
I tried to follow the suggestions as closely as possible, but having only a 2-sided PCB means that the routing options are limited. I have the FE package as shown in Fig 17. Bottom layer is solid ground plane and I tried to keep all the ground connections as short as possible. Thanks for the feedback.

jakeke

Joined Sep 11, 2014
I found the solution for this problem. The datasheet suggested a inductor with a equation Lmin = 12/(Fosc) which is of course absurd to use in my case. I calculated now that 800 µH inductor is needed for this regulator. So I'll change my regulator...

SgtWookie