Low Voltage Battery Alarm and Disconnect 12v

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by trader007, Jul 11, 2010.

1. trader007

Thread Starter Active Member

Feb 27, 2010
    I have a computer in my car, and i would like to leave my computer on with the engine off yet not have to worry about a battery thats not charged enough to start the car. most budget low voltage disconnects you buy have a very low voltage cut out. this is selectable in a range that will work for a variety of purposes. in my case, i think 12.0v would be about right.

the capacitors at the input for the alarm are an attempt to keep the voltage constant while cranking the motor. i dont know if i will need more capacitance there or not.

[​IMG]

what do you guys think? im not an engineer so im sure there are better designs, but this one is based of parts you can buy at radio shack so that does make it nice for convenience. will this actually work too? i just dont have the time to try it, maybe soon though.

Last edited: Jul 13, 2010
  2. trader007

Feb 27, 2010
    is this a little bit too complicated for this forum? ive been trying to find a place that talks about circuits like this one, i just havent had much luck.

3. JoeJester

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 26, 2005
    I don't think I would use that circuit. Where did you get that circuit?

4. tom66

May 9, 2009
    A simpler circuit would use a comparator and a relay (getting rid of the 555). If you delay the comparator using a capacitor, it will give you several seconds to crank the engine before it shuts off.

Also, 0.1 farads... are you sure that's the right value?

5. trader007

Feb 27, 2010
    i really dont know what i need there. that cap is just to keep the voltage stable during engine cranking. the 555 timer is there to have a delay from when the moment the voltage drops to low, to when the relay actually clicks off.

i wanted at least 2min for this duration, up to 10min ideally- and that can be changed by adding more capacitance at C1