Low resistance, high amperage resistor?

teddy77

Joined Apr 17, 2012
I have a resistance heater than I would like to run off a regulated 5 volt DC power supply I have. After testing the heater with a VARIAC to find the proper temp, I found that 3.8 volts @ 7.5 amps gives the desired results. I would like to use a resistor to drop the voltage seen at the heater by 1.2 volts (5-3.8). This is just for testing, I'm aware of the inefficiency and the fact that the resistance of the heater varies with temperature. I came up with .16 ohms @ 20-25 watt power rating. This is for something quick and dirty, does not need to be TERRIBLY accurate at this point. The other problem is, if my numbers are right, where can I find a resistor like that? Other simple options to wire it?

teddy77

Joined Apr 17, 2012
U can always use a Power MOS to drop the the voltage.
I'm sure that would work although it is overshooting my abilities, I work as a machinist so, being a project, the electrical aspect is definitely not a strength of mine. What about wiring multiple resistors in parallel to divide the current up and give me my resistance? I'm not concerned with doing it the "best" way, as long as it works... If this could work, what would be the most practical amount/size/rating of the resistors? And of course, the fewest....

R!f@@

Joined Apr 2, 2009
See...the fewest..u said it.

It most economical way is to use a power MOSFET.

If u can wire resistors, u can wire a MOSFET

Joined Nov 30, 2010
You can run down to Radio Shack and buy (6) 1 ohm, 10 watt resistors. Put them in parallel for .166 ohms. That's quick, dirty, and within 4% of where you want to go. Besides, a pile of 1 ohm, high wattage resistors can come in handy.

DickCappels

Joined Aug 21, 2008
I get the same resistance (0.16 ohms) but a different power dissipation:

7.5 x 7.5 x 1.6 = 9.0 Watts. You should probably use a resistor array with a higher wattage rating if you are going to run the thing for more than a minute or two.