Looking for first Oscilloscope

constant collisions

Joined Nov 15, 2012
First off I have to say I am a functional beginner with electronics. I piddle with mechanical things, but have recently developed electrical interests..

I have about 4 multi meters and have fixed a few things over the years. I self studied electronics in high school which was less than a year ago. I am currently at college to obtain a degree in Industrial systems technology and wouldn't you know it, I am taking an electronics class.

The class has a huge array of equipment that has me memorized all the time. Most of it dating back to the 1980's.

I am, however. mostly interested in the oscilloscopes. I am looking to either buy one or find one that someone doesn't want.

I heard that they were not too expensive on ebay and that I could snatch a 100mhz 2 channel for $50. Average price for such a scope was about 300 dollars :eek:. Someone was lying. :rolleyes:

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody here could recommend some good analog scopes.

I'm not looking to spend a boatload here, maximum of about 175-200 big ones.

I know it sounds frugal for such a groundbreaking piece of equipment, but with the market being terrible and scopes being plentiful, They have to be out there for little money.

Thanks for your help.

w2aew

Joined Jan 3, 2012
You may want to look at your local Craigslist, if that applies where you are located. Also, check with local ham radio clubs. Even check with other schools, many of which are getting rid of their older analog scopes now. You should be able to find a decent analog scope for $100 or less.