Looking for advice on repairing subwoofer plate amp.

Jeremy Meyer

Joined Mar 19, 2015
I have an older 500 watt subwoofer plate amp that quit working and I was wondering if there was someone here willing to help guide me through diagnosing the problem. I have some electronics experience from college but it has been several years since I've utilized anything I learned. Use it or loose it I guess.

Anyway, the subwoofer that the plate amp was in sat around for several years before I decided to hook it up one day. I used the line level inputs and it seemed to be working fine for several hours and then quit. I took the plate amp out of the enclosure and found two resistors coming from the line level inputs totally fried to the point I couldn't make out their values. They both measured nearly 100 ohm so I replaced them with new ones but there is still an issue. Unfortunately, the amplifier still doesn't produce any output.

I have an old Tektronix 465 analog scope and multimeter but am not knowledgeable enough to know what kind of voltages I should be seeing without a schematic. I am also having a hard time following the signal path so when "poking around" with the scope I tend to get lost.

I am eager to learn more about electronics repair, specifically for audio applications but really could use some guidance.

If I were to provide pictures of the amp could someone help identify what I am looking at and what I should be seeing with my test equipment?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated.

Hypatia's Protege

Joined Mar 1, 2015
two resistors coming from the line level inputs totally fried
Resistors in the AF input path shouldn't be liable to over-current, are you certain of said components' application? (FWIW: It is barely possible that the described damage owes to a failed {shorted/leaky} coupling capacitor -- in which case there may be subsequent damage to the PS rectifiers)