Long range Ir proximity detection

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by varuntejavarma, Jun 5, 2014.

1. varuntejavarma

Thread Starter Member

Apr 16, 2014
    Hello,

I have to design a low cost Ir proximity sensor for long range detection upto 1.5 metres. I have modulated my signal using pic mcu and used a tsop sensor at receiver side. But i could get only upto 10 cms range maximum. I have tried using high intensity Ir emitters but saw no improvement.
    I am a newbie in this field and have no idea on how to increase the detection range. Anyone kindly help me out to solve this problem. I dont want to give up. any kind of help is appreciated.

Thanks

2. GopherT

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 23, 2012
    The focus (dispersion angle) of your LED emitter and the focus angle of your detector (photodiode or photo resistor). Look for something under 15 degrees for emitter and more than 30 for detector.

Also, the frequency is important, some phototransistors cannot pick up with good sensitivity above 15khz. Some work up to 100khz or so. A photodiode (reversed biased LEd emitter) works much better at high frequencies.

3. ronv

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 12, 2008
    What are you detecting?

4. THE_RB

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 11, 2008
    Something is VERY wrong there!

I have modulated an IR LED at 38kHz with a PIC, and the sensor can pick it up after bouncing off walls metres away!

Mayeb you are not pulsing the 38kHz? You have to send pulses, because if you send constant 38kHz the sensor will reduce its gain and give you weird problems. Pulsing the 38kHz at 1mS on, 1mS off is pretty standard and works fine.

5. varuntejavarma

Thread Starter Member

Apr 16, 2014
    Really!! I was wondering if i could acheive a long detection range with 5v supply and normal led's and photodiodes.
    I have checked the output of 555 timer. it shows the freq 56 khz.
    it would be very helpfull if you could post your circuit diagram though which i could know my mistakes and correct them

6. THE_RB