Logic gates and truth table

cuircitboy

Joined Oct 20, 2011
struggling with thse I have to make a few of them

The question is draw logic circuit and truth table A or (B and C)

I have a few so can someone explain the answer to this so i can hopefully do the rest.

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Can you make an initial effort to tackle your problem and post it? It will be much easier for us if we see were you are lacking.

cuircitboy

Joined Oct 20, 2011
<snip>

I'm not studying to become an engineer, I am studying computering at Uni, I just cant get my head round this stuff :(

Last edited by a moderator:

colinb

Joined Jun 15, 2011
OK, first read about what gates are (AND, OR, NOT, then NAND and NOR). Try to understand how truth tables show the result of these gates (which perform logic functions like AND and OR, etc.).

You can think of logic functions as a kind of one-bit addition and multiplication. The OR operation is like addition (and is often written as “+”). The AND operation is like multiplication (often written “⋅”).

Truth tables are a way of writing down EVERY possible input to a logic function, and showing what the output would be.

Draw the truth table for AND and OR and you will see how AND is like multiplication (0⋅0=0; 1⋅0=0; 1⋅1=1; ...). If you don't know what a truth table looks like, look in your textbook. It must be described there. READ YOUR BOOK!

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
Check this wiki article in the section Symbols: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Logic_gates
and also here: http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_4/chpt_3/index.html

Then try to convert your literal expression into a symbolic one, using the "distinctive symbols".

A truth table is a table that has columns for each input of the Boolean expression and a column in the end for the result.

Each row has in its input section a binary number, starting from 0 and counting up. The corresponding output section is filled with the result of the expression.