logic circuit

Xufyan

Joined Aug 3, 2010
Hello,
i am very good in DLD and can design some of the very good DLD project myself , i have cleared DLD exam in last semester,
now i am in my fourth semester and one of my course is Operational Amplifiers and Osciallators , i am in search of some kind of good project that uses Opamp ic.

anybody have an idea on using an Opamp ic in a completely logical circuit ?

for example,

as this is a logic circuit,

http://www.allaboutcircuits.com/vol_6/chpt_7/7.html

what new i can add in this circuit so that opamp must be use in this circuit.

Thankyou

simo_x

Joined Dec 23, 2010
Normally oscillator circuits that use Op Amps are for sine-wave output. See here and here for more informations..

In digital electronics, as you maybe already know, oscillators are mainly used to generate square wave output for clock source, and op amps are generally not used for this purpose, as Bill already said.. Take a look here

If you would like to generate a square wave oscillator using only operational amplifiers, you should create a circuit that would have a
sine-wave output oscillator >> op amp Schmitt trigger
(with threshold voltage reference on inverting input, depending your need).

Regards

Xufyan

Joined Aug 3, 2010
Op Amps are linear, not digital. What you are after is more of a comparator circuit.

We occasionally see people use op amps as comparators, this is usually a bad idea.

Voltage comparator
why its not good to use Opamp as a comparator ? what is the need of connecting to potentiometer in the circuit you linked ?

what would be the basic and good project of opamp ?

Last edited:

Xufyan

Joined Aug 3, 2010
we've just started learning about Opamp so i don't know much about it , i couldn't create a circuit myself

Normally oscillator circuits that use Op Amps are for sine-wave output. See here and here for more informations..