Locomotive electronics & switching

mrpotatohead14

Joined Dec 15, 2014
Hello everyone
Please can you help I am an absolute beginner when it comes to electronics. I am about to venture off building what in essence is a ride on electric locomotive. But no one other than a mannequin will be riding on it and it will be very simple in design and will traverse up and down a straight length of track, it will be driven by an electric 12v motor and powered by a 12v car battery but my problem is I need to stop it at each end of the track and send it off in the opposite direction. so it just goes backwards then forwards, I have preconceived ideas of two motors and limit switches can anyone put me straight
Any help will be greatly appreciated
Thank you

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
just put a couple of two way switches at each end of the track, then when the train hits the switch it reverses the battery connection using a DPDT relay, and the train runs in the other direction.

Last edited:

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
I would think you need a little deceleration if there is any kind of weight or significant load on the motor. Especially if there is physical end stop (buffers)?
Also a pause instead of instant reversal, which will certainly drain the battery.
A couple of ways would be either to place a pre stop switch and go into a decel rate, alternatively let it coast, if precise stop is not needed, Do you have the motor yet?
Max.

mrpotatohead14

Joined Dec 15, 2014
I would think you need a little deceleration if there is any kind of weight or significant load on the motor. Especially if there is physical end stop (buffers)?
Also a pause instead of instant reversal, which will certainly drain the battery.
A couple of ways would be either to place a pre stop switch and go into a decel rate, alternatively let it coast, if precise stop is not needed, Do you have the motor yet?
Max.
No I have not chosen one yet

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012