lm3915 vu meter problem

lukasxx1

Joined Jan 9, 2015
Hello everyone. So i started learning about electronics slowly, my physics knowledge is really bad but i hope i can fix that.
This is my second electronics project so i decided to do something cool... http://www.electro-tech-online.com/imgcache/8472-14.gif
I end up doing this, i have no idea how it works and i barely connected everything to my breadboard.
I use 9V power source
3,5V , 0,02A 10leds
10k potenciometer
and 1k(didint have 1,2k) resistor exactly as shown in the scheme.
everything seemed to work fine but when i play music only 5 or 6 leds are glowing and the last 4 are not doing anything ;/ Whats should be wrong?
I tryed to read lm3915 description but there is so much information my head almost blew up :/ there is no way i can understand something with brains like mine, so i hope u got some simple explanation how to fix that :)

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
The problem may not lie with the 3915. The signal peaks may not be strong enough, or last long enough, to light all the LEDs.
Does your circuit include a peak detector stage?

lukasxx1

Joined Jan 9, 2015
Im not sure how to explain that and im not even sure what are u asking me. But i connected all my circuit to 3,5mm jack and connected to my pc

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
So, the PC sound card is the signal source. Depending on the card make and the audio you are playing, the output from the card may only be a Volt or so peak-to-peak. If the 10k pot is adjusted correctly and the battery is fresh you should be able to get all LEDs to turn on, albeit faintly and with some flicker.
Have you set the PC to give maximum output level?
Have you adjusted the pot for maximum sensitivity (= minimum resistance)?