LM3914 - V Meter (resistor calculations)

deanp

Joined Feb 17, 2012
Hi All

Im totally new to electronics, and require some help in trying to setup a 0-5V voltage meter using the LM3914 IC (datasheet). The meter will be powered by, and monitor the same rechargeable battery pack (4 x 1.2V @2000mAh). I have read Electronics for Dummies and can still remember the common formulae for electricity from high school i.e V=IR, P=IV, resistors in parrallel.

I have managed to find a Simple Voltage Monitor sheet from NS (http://www.national.com/ms/LB/LB-48.pdf) with the exact specification I need, but I really would like to know how to calculate the resistors that are required for this project.

Im also confused over what pins 4-8 actually mean, but from I could piece together from various implementations of this project on the internet:

• Pin 4 - Vrlo - Lower range of the voltage to be monitored (0.9V x 4 = 3.6V) 0.9V is the voltage at which each battery would be considered as depleted.
  • Pin 5 - Signal source
  • Pin 6 - Vrhi - High range of voltage to be monitored ( 1.425V x 4 = 5.75V) 1.425V voltage at which each battery is at max charge.
  • Pin 7 - Ref Out Vrhi - Vrlo = 2.1V, the voltage range to be monitored i.e. 0.21V per/LED.
  • Pin 8 - ?

I appreciate any help thats provided, and I apologise if I've left any information out of the post.

Attachments

Last edited:

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
If you look at the internal schematic of the device it's self explanatory. I have one from a design I did I will attach it.

You have a string of ten comparators with 1K resistors in a string. You can ground the bottom of the string or put a resistor there to raise the first trigger point up. The 1.25V reference is there to let you make a resistive divider to set the bottom and top voltage set on the resistor string to any value between 0 and 1.25V.

Attachments

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005