LM386 Amplifier Chip

vrinsk

Joined Mar 30, 2014
Hi all, I've lurked this forum a few times but this is my first time posting. I bought this amplifier chip on ebay. I wanted to try to make my own portable speakers with rechargeable battery but I can't get it to work so I was hoping someone with experience could help me out.

Here are the materials I'm working with:

The LM386 chip I bought on ebay
A mini-usb chip I bought on ebay
An 8 ohm 3 watt full range speaker (I have 2 but I was testing with 1)
Old cell phone with music
An old cellphone battery

The box where I put everything is where I hope to put the speakers and the components. I haven't been able to figure out what the third terminal on the battery is, there's a positive symbol on one side and a negative on the other and nothing on the middle so I'm not sure how to connect it so I've been testing the amplifier chip with a 9V battery.

The dupont cables are connected as follows:

Black= ground
White= ground
Gray= in
Purple= VCC

I had connected the black and red from the input cable to the gray In and the ground to the white ground, then the black ground. The out of the chip I connected the positive cable of the speaker and the negative to the Ground of the chip.

I had connected the positive of the battery to the VCC and the negative to the Black Ground, then I think I switched the black ground for the white ground and um yeah, I made sure the speaker works with another chip I have from a unit I had dismantled so I'm pretty sure the speaker works and I'm not sure how to put it all together and make it work, it's been a frustrating 2 weeks while I've gathers all the parts and been tinkering here and there.

I'm pretty new at electronics but I've been reading and experimenting with DIY kits, this is my first time I try something without instructions and spare parts. Any help is appreciated. Thank you.

Attachments

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Welcome to AAC.