LM356 op-amp based guitar amplifier

specialedster

Joined Dec 21, 2009
I am going to attempt to build a small practice guitar amp with a couple of op amp circuits I already have. I know that the LM386 is probably the standard for guitar amps, but I've already got the LM358 circuits and I have read a couple of tutorials so I know it can be done just fine. I am basing my design off of this schematic but as I am a bit new to this sort of thing I had a couple of questions.

1. I know that the two 100K pots are used to control gain and master settings respectively. Would it be a problem if I substituted 10K pots in their place, and should they be log or linear?

2. I know that I will try to drive an 8 ohm speaker, but I am unsure of what power rating I will need. I have a couple of 0.5W speakers laying around that I'd like to use, would one of those work okay?

Any help would be appreciated :) Cheers!

Last edited:

russ_hensel

Joined Jan 11, 2009
10 k pot increases the load on the op amp, but only 1ma at 10 volts, I would guess ok.
log tape is standard for volume control, but 10 k resistor into the op amp modified its characteristics ( and will differ for the 10 k resistor ) You might try it and see if working of volume control seems ok to you.

Using the 358 for output to a speaker seem dubious to me. Short circuit current is only 50 ma. There are lots of little audio amps out there, similar to op amps with more muscle ( lm384 is one, may not be the best ) . Or you can use push pull emitter follower booster.

You definitely need more output drive for a guitar amp. I used to build these years ago and the push-pull Class B design is the way to go. Look on this forum for a Class B or a push-pull amp.

Cheers, DPW [ Everyone's knowledge is in-complete...Albert Einstein]

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007