Lm319 comparator help

MABDALLA

Joined Jan 21, 2014
I AM A ELECTRICAL ENGINEER STUDENT first year. I am hobbyist as well a fairly new one and am messing around with this LM319N to control some leds and need help trying figure out how to wire this comparator correctly. Im guess vcc goes to 5v supply and vee to ground?? not really sure on vee..or is it to negative supply??

ofcourse gnd to gnd and postive i got hooked up to a 100k pot and negative to two 10k resistors as a voltage divder…..i get the concept of a comparator just not getting what i want out of it …this is a dual comparator i got both sides wired the same except for the negative the resistor ratings are different…and on both outputs i got leds hooked up to them…i want one to come on before the other as i turn the 100k pot….i know a schematic would be more helpful but im new to drawing one out with eaglecad …i guess my main question is the VEE goes to negative supply or gnd? and if negative supply how can i get a negative supply?

**confused**
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/symlink/lm119.pdf <<compartor datasheet

MABDALLA

Joined Jan 21, 2014
i had vcc hooked up to 9v battery and and gnd to gnd…postive to 100k pot and negative to voltage divider which got it to about 3v….this is a dual comparator so i did same for both comparators except switched out the resisitors on the negative side of the volatage divder to equal less than 3v at about 2v on the other side..and on both outputs are LEDs…but for some reason when i turn the 100k pot both leds turn on at same time….it doesnt make since..one should turn on before the other accordng to the voltage divider the output will turn only when postive is more than negative? but they switch on at the exact time…when i turn the 100k pot connected to the postive