Liquid Water...from Sunlight?

willnels

Joined Nov 2, 2016
Newbie Here, so please excuse my inexperience and ignorance.
Here is what I am trying to accomplish: Keeping 4 - 1 gal. containers of water from freezing at my cabin. I want to do this because the only to get to my cabin in the winter is to snowshoe in about 3 miles, all going up So I want to reduce the weight of my pack. I am thinking of putting the water in a well insulated cooler with some kind of heat source. Here are the challenges:

1) My cabin is off Grid, the only source of power is a 18 watt solar panel charging a 12v car battery. The panel puts out 0.65 A in direct sunlight. About .006A at 3.46v on a cloudy day. (If my measurements are correct).
2) The average temperature during the winter is around 30F. with lows at night in the 20s.
3) The cabin is in the Central Cascades in WA. Sunlight islimited due to winter cloud cover and short days (as short as 8 hrs. on the winter solstice).
4) I was thinking of using a small 12v. LED bulb (an automobile tail light bulb) as a heat source. This bulb draws about .11 Amps. I think this draw will deplete the 12v battery given the amount of light available.

So, is it possible to do this another way using resistors, a thermostat, light sensor, etc.? Thank you...

-Bill

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
You could make far more efficient use of the scarce solar energy by simply converting it directly to heat and skipping the electronics. I'm thinking of a sort of greenhouse with the water in a black container to absorb the light. This is a common technique in actual greenhouses.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Yes, think of how warm your car gets inside when the sun shines, even on cold days.
You would want a well insulated container (say 6-8" of insulation) with the inside painted black and double layer glass on top facing the noon day sun in the winter.
If you could do this inside the cabin under a south facing window, that would be even better.

Joined Nov 30, 2010