Linear Actuator and Proximity Sensor Circuit

Curly Fries

Joined Oct 1, 2015
Hello, I am a complete novice and need some advice on what components to get for a small circuit with a linear actuator and proximity sensor. I want it so whenever the proximity sensor isn't detecting anything the linear actuator goes and stays up, and when the proximity sensor is detecting something the linear actuator goes and stays down. I need the proximity sensor to have a range of about 1-2 meters and the circuit to be a small as possible. I also have a relatively small budget so I do not want to be paying more than around £20-50 for all of the components. What components would I need to get and how would I make this basic circuit?

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
You can buy a linear actuator (12Vdc motor powered) with a built-in precision linear pot. I used such to make an automatic car gate actuator. I used an Arduino as a controller. The pot tells the controller where the gate is, when to start slowing, which direction to go on the next button push, etc.

Unfortunately, the linear actuator I bought for this project does not meet your cost objective. However, I have been able to scrounge some similar actuators (that were too slow for the gate) without feedback pots. If you are handy, you could add a feedback pot to the gear train of the actuator...

AnalogKid

Joined Aug 1, 2013
What is the linear actuator actuating? Size, weight, function, connectivity, etc?
What is the proximity sensor sensing? Metal, people, optical, magnetic, infrared, etc?
Is the completed project going to be indoors or outside in the weather?

ak

Curly Fries

Joined Oct 1, 2015
What is the linear actuator actuating? Size, weight, function, connectivity, etc?
What is the proximity sensor sensing? Metal, people, optical, magnetic, infrared, etc?
Is the completed project going to be indoors or outside in the weather?

ak