Light Dependent Resistor

aussiemike

Joined Jul 19, 2011
Hi Guys,
I am relatively new to electronic circuitry and at 60 years old am having a little trouble getting my head around some stuff.
I started this hobby with help from a guy in Ireland called Ron jay.
I built a few of his circuits and he has helped me enormously. I feel though I am imposing on his time and decided to come here to learn as much as I can.
One circuit I built was a custom circuit I asked him to design for a special need.
It can be seen here
dianibeach.com/ldr.htm
The idea is to get the light from the screen of a mobile phone ( Inside a dark box )to activate the LDR. Turns out the light from the phone is not strong enough to trigger it.
Any tweeks our added circuitry I might be able to add to make this functional? In simple English please as not only am I getting old I am also an Aussie.
Regards from Kenya
Aussiemike

monster_catfish

Joined Mar 17, 2011
This is of no help at all Mike, but I haven't heard an Aussie joke in my entire life, though I did chuckle at the "confession" in last line of your post.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

Did you connect the pins 7 and 14 of the 4001?
Pin 7 should de to the - of the battery.
Pin 14 should be to the + of the battery.

Bertus

aussiemike

Joined Jul 19, 2011
Yes I have. The arrows at top and bottom of the diagram indicate that.
The circuit works fine. If you short the LDR the siren goes off.
Just LDR is not working well enough to trigger the system with low light level.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

What value are you using for R1?
If the value is to low the LDR will need more light to trigger.

Bertus

Using a transistor switch with sensors

The top circuit diagram shows an LDR (light sensor) connected so that the LED lights when the LDR is in darkness. The variable resistor adjusts the brightness at which the transistor switches on and off. Any general purpose low power transistor can be used in this circuit.