Light can carry sound !!

Michael George

Joined Feb 8, 2015
schemeit-project(2).png I'm a beginner in designing circuits. I've designed this circuit myself. It may has a lot of mistakes but it works. I find the idea of this circuit is amazing because light or Infrared rays can carry my favorite song :D :D
I also have some questions and I wounder if you would mind helping me to improve this circuit :

1- The sound that comes out from the speaker is noisy. There is not much noise. I mean the noise is acceptable but what if I want to improve it, should I add band pass filters ? or change base bias ? or do something else ?

2- The IR LED must be 1 inch far from IR receiver so that the quality of the sound is almost good. If they are closer than 1 inch, Noise increases. If the distance between them is larger than 1 inch, Sound becomes lower and lower until it disappears.
What can I do to increase the distance without disappearing the sound ? ( such as the distance of TV's remote control )

3- Are C3 and R5 provide a High pass filter ? or the capacitor just passes AC signals and resistor is just a part of voltage divider ?

4- There are to kinds of IR receiver black one and White ( transparent one ) what is the difference between them ?

Thanks in advance, I hope I'm not bothering you due to my many questions :D :D god bless you :)

ScottWang

Joined Aug 23, 2012
C3 used 470uf was too big, normally just using 1~10uf, if you need more distance then you can try the ir used in the TV remote control.

If you want to know what will caused the noise then you better using the o'scope to measure the waveform.

Reloadron

Joined Jan 15, 2015