Lifting a hook with a selenoid actuator

What is the best solution to rotate a hook?

• Robotics

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Adina

Joined Mar 24, 2015
Hi there,

I need to make the hook in the image to lift automatically for placing in the position of clamping tray. Now this operation is done manual. The polymer hooks are used just to catch the tray not to sustain the weight of it. It is hard to manually rotate the hooks for fixing on the tray when the forks are at a height of 2m. So i think that if I will use a solenoid actuator with 12V will be enough, this solenoid i will catch on the gall chain. I'm not an expert on electrical drivers so please if you have a better idea (I don't think mine is good) or some tips for me I'll be more then happy. I'm thinking also on replacing those hooks with a gripper hand...any idea on what to use?

Thank you,
Adina

Attachments

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
I think a push-pull solenoid or air cylinder is perfect for that application..
Motor would be fine too I guess but a solenoid is much easier IMO.. No worry about speed/positional control,etc...

Adina

Joined Mar 24, 2015
I think a push-pull solenoid or air cylinder is perfect for that application..
Motor would be fine too I guess but a solenoid is much easier IMO.. No worry about speed/positional control,etc...
Thank you, but what do you mean by "No worry about speed/positional control"? I have to choose the right solenoid actuator...but I really don't know what to choose, probably a DC 12V 1A Pull Type Electric Actuator Solenoid Coil? Is the smallest one?
I can't use a pneumatic cylinder because the stacker is hydraulic and electrical...if I will put also some pneumatics will be to much :)

Bernard

Joined Aug 7, 2008