Level Controlling a actuator.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Allfive, Jan 10, 2013.

1. Allfive

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Hi,
    I’m new here at this forum. I’m an mechanic of background, and have worked with electronics before but I have rarely worked with actuators. I have tried to use the search bar but I haven’t found any threads to mach my needs.

- How can I level control a actuator (Length)?

As I have understood there are normally 2 internal switches in a actuator as below.
    These need to be there for the electric engines safety.
    Actuator.png

On my configuration I need some way to control the length of the arms extent. This way I can control witch positions the actuator is in with a couple of buttons as under:
    Actuator 2.png

In other words I’m looking for hints and tricks to make this work. The actuator is in a tight spot so size is of the essence, and I think it is difficult to place a limit switch on each location for indication.
    I’m hoping to have a control box separate from the box above, with individuale potentiometers that will able me to move the locations (1, 2, 3, and 4) around to be able to insure that the actuator arm is the correct length.

- Is it possible to make it so that I’m able to press from 1->3?
    Lets say I’m in number 1, and want number 3, press on it and it slowly goes there, and then the same from 3->2 and 2->4 etc etc

My index finger has blisters all this Googling. :)

2. Allfive

Jan 10, 2013
  3. panic mode

Oct 10, 2011
    add position feedback for the actuator and trigger output when position exceeds preset (value set by potentiometer).

4. mcgyvr

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 15, 2009
    string pots (basically a string connected to a potentiometer.. pull the string out and the resistance of the pot changes.. A table of resistance to distance can be constructed and the resistance simply monitored to know how far its out..

or linear encoders,etc..