LEDs... resistors not necessary with constant current driver, right?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by s_mack, Aug 27, 2015.

1. s_mack

Thread Starter Member

Dec 17, 2011
    I'm only asking this because the LED panel manufacturer is being oddly persistent on the point, and I am by NO means an LED expert, so I'm asking you guys for your opinions on the matter.

Background: I've been working on a project that is an add-on to an existing consumer product, which utilizes a non-backlit LCD screen. One of the features of my project is it adds a backlight. I provide an LED panel, which I am having made in China. Onboard my project is a constant current LED driver IC.

When the Chinese factory produced my samples, I noticed tiny resistor chips in series with each LED "string", which were shown on their circuit diagram (shown below) but I managed to miss them.

upload_2015-8-27_9-45-29.png

I told them the resistors are unnecessary, since I'm driving it with a constant current. They insist I'm making a mistake.

Am I?

The driver I'm using provides this typical application circuit:

upload_2015-8-27_9-57-14.png

clearly no resistor is shown for each LED.

But maybe the LED panel manufacturer knows something I don't?

I tested it both ways. It was slightly more dim with the resistors in place, but not a big deal. I let it run for several hours without the resistor and no harm seemed to come of it.

2. dl324

Distinguished Member

Mar 30, 2015
    If you're operating from a current source, the brightness should be the same with or without the resistors. Otherwise your current source isn't acting as a current source with the resistors.

The manufacturer obviously intended for the LEDs to be driven from a voltage source and they probably selected resistor values that would match brightness between colors when operated in that manner. You can short the resistors and use your current source...

3. s_mack

Thread Starter Member

Dec 17, 2011