LEDs on a keyboard.

Alecc12

Joined Feb 24, 2013
Hello everyone !

First of all , I want to say I'm a little bad at English and I'm a newbie in electronics .

I have a little problem with my keyboards LEDs

I have the 3 LEDs from the (numlock,capslock and scrolllock).on the main board of the keyboard.(by board i mean the green thingy that has resistors and such , on it).
Beside those 3 LEDs i have 8 more , 3 on one side , 3 on the other and 2 on top.From the main board of the keyboard, 2 wires leave into 3 different boards that hold the others 8 LEDs (3, 3, 2)From the main board 2 wires leave into a board with 3 leds , then 2 wires leave into a board with 3 leds and then into the last one with 2 leds.I opened to see if it has any lose "wire slots" ?Things that have wires connected into them and you insert them in the board.white square thing.

The problem is that sometimes the others 8 LEDs start becoming more brighter or dimmer , like less electricity goes into them , flickering i guess but sometimes they don't.The flickering starts either when i start the computer , or in time.They don't have an exact moment when they do that.When i write on the keyboard, when i don't write Etc.

Thanks alot !

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
Is this a USB Keyboard?

Can you take a couple of clear photos of the keyboard, both sides of the PCB w/LEDs. You can attach them to your next post using the paper-clip icon in the Advanced/Full Editor (not in Quick Reply).

Alecc12

Joined Feb 24, 2013
1.jpg2.jpg22.jpg3.jpg4.jpg

It's a Hama Exodus.

Pictures in order of name :

1 -> main PCB i guess it's called , where the cord comes.(left side)
2&22-> where the first series of 3 leds are.(left side)
3-> the second series of 2 leds(top)
4-> the other series of 3 LEDs(right side)

Yes its a USB keyboard.It's a pretty cheap one but i like to stick my nose in things and fix them ! :D

PS: Today the LEDs where very very low , barely 10% of the power of a LED.And sometimes they flicker.