LED Tile Wall

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by acefire, Aug 21, 2010.

1. acefire

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 21, 2010
    Hi there, i am a beginner when it comes to electrical circuits but i am a motor vehicle engineer so i do understand how to diagnose problems and understand V=IR to some extent.

What i am pondering to make is a wall of Acrylic frosted glass with a Tri-Colour LED behind each tile and also a white LED behind every tile also. I am thinking it will be around 42 of Each type of LED as it should be around 42 tiles (Around 20 CM2 each) I am looking to get the tiles connected to a pc so they can be controlled by a program hopefuly Visual Basic as i understand VB but if not i will have to learn the other languages. I want it so any individual LED can be turned on and off so the wall can be whatever design is chosen through the program. I have looked into Arduino boards but i do not know if these wold have enough pins for me to make this possible. I am also looking for this to be using a wall power England (240v) socket as i beleive it would take too much power from the PC.

I am looking into High power white LED's and 5mm or 10 mm Tri Colour LED's also that would be bright enough to light up the 20cm square.

I would appreciate if someone could give me an idea of what i would need to make this possible and any educated guess at a price range for it all (ignoring tiles ect, only electrics) Also things like if i would need a resistor seperate for every LED or a way to do it so they can all run from a smaller amount.

Thank you.
    Chris.

2. marshallf3

Jul 26, 2010
    Any microprocessor can be made to control any number of outputs, it's all in the programming plus the decoding circuitry.

You'll have a million choices for LEDs, you're not lighting a large area. I'd start looking through http://www.goldmine-elec.com as they're reasonable for the tri-colors but don't overlook other sources.