LED Strobe Controller

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bluerose79, Apr 24, 2010.

1. bluerose79

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 24, 2010
    Hello all,

I am a total electronics noob. Im looking for someone who can design me a diagram for an addon to my strobe controller. The controller is of chinese origin and it uses the ground side as the controlling side on transistors in the controller. what Im wanting to do is add several more led panels, 48 total led's per panel to the controller. i just need a diagram that i can follow to create a wired add on to expand the controller i have, i know transistors are what i need do to the speed of the switching. but I' m unable to determine how to design it.. power is 12v obviosuly and the controller sends out 12v positive all the time and negative as the switch side. Thank You all.

2. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    Haven't you ever that any one will need to see the circuit diagram of what you have to make an add on.

3. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009
    Do you have any more specs? Like the total allowable amp draw on that 12v line?

If you want to power the leds from the same 12v line, or do you just want to switch the transistor with it? That way you can power the LEDs from a more capable source.

Just in case you dont have the current available on the 12v line.

Consider the power supply specs and what you are already pulling from the power supply. When you come up with a number, the rest should be downhill.

4. bluerose79

Apr 24, 2010
    I want to use the original strobe controller to run the add-on. So the add-on doesnt have to be fancy. Total amp draw avail is coming from a 900 amp truck battery. so not really a limit on draw power. each panel pulls less than 500ma and im 2wanting to use 12-14 panels. so a total of 2 channels at less than 6 amps each channel, and if i need to separate to more channels thats fine too..

Last edited: Apr 24, 2010
  5. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009