Led strip 12v battery to 9v battery

RiskeTaker

Joined Nov 6, 2016
hey guys I'm new to AAC and I'm working on a project that basically has led strips attached to Velcro bands that I put around my wrist and arm. But my problem is that the only led strips I can find are 12volt but that could be difficult because it's attached to my arm. How can I make 12v led strips run brightly on 9v?

Do keep in mind I'm very very new to the world of electronics.

Last edited by a moderator:

Alec_t

Joined Sep 17, 2013
Welcome to AAC!
Two options come to mind:
1) Modify the LED strip to run on 9V (by removing/shorting one of the assumed-series-connected LEDs and if necessary replacing the assumed current-limiting resistor),
2) Buy a DC/DC converter (voltage booster) to raise the 9V to 12V. The 9V battery would then have to provide a current of about 1.2*(12/9)* whatever the LED strip rated current is.

Whichever option, bear in mind that a little 9V battery won't run a current-hungry LED strip for very long.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

If you want to power the strips with a 9 Volts PP3 battery, you will need a boost converter.
However, a PP3 battery will give you likely a short time to light the led strips.
You could also power the 12 volts strips with 8 AA batteries.

Bertus

RichardO

Joined May 4, 2013
I have run Harbor Freight LED taillights at 9 volts. They are not as bright as at 12 volts but they were bright enough for my purposes which was a bicycle taillight.
I flashed the taillight at a low duty cycle and powered it from a 9 volt battery.

KJ6EAD

Joined Apr 30, 2011
I've found that LED indicators and strips made to run on 12V usually look almost as good on 9V, just a little dimmer and with lower power consumption.

mcgyvr

Joined Oct 15, 2009
How can I make 12v led strips run brightly on 9v?
All depends on the specifics of this "12V" LED strip.. It may run just fine with a 9V supply vs 12.. Or it won't turn on at all.. Each is different..