LED red and blue lighting in series

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by bobbyandck, Jan 10, 2014.

1. bobbyandck

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 10, 2014
    Dear all,

I'v been looking into this for some time but I don't seem to find the answer to my questions. As I am a beginner, I'll be rather detailed so that you can better see what are the things I got wrong.

I have the following:
    A transformer giving 0.9A at 18-40V
    Red Leds using 0.75A at 2.2-2.6V
    Blue Leds using 0.7A at 3.6-3.8V
    (*Thank you MrChips for the correction, It is indeed all Amps and not mA)
    The point is to put as many red as possible but also some blue.

Mounting it in parallel seems not possible as 0.75A+0.7A>0.9A
    So the only solution is mounting in one series but then I have the problem of different voltages (I guess the difference between 0.7A and 0.75A is too little to be of any major consequence, so I calculated on 0.7)...

I was imagining the following series setup:
    10 Red followed by 3 Blue, that would give a total of 32.8-37.4V which gives a little space in terms of transformer variation.

- First question, is this at all possible or will I simply burn the lower voltage red leds ? or should I mount them first blue and then red with a resistance in the middle ? or is that not a problem except perhaps a little less light ? (I've looked on various websites and they either say never to mix voltages or that you can do whatever you want, so I guess the answer is somewhere in the middle)

I now try to calculate the resistance at the beginning (positive side) of the series. Using (Vinput-VƩleds)/Amps gives me between 3.5 and 9.6 ohm, which I guess is the size of the resistance I need. I therefore looked on a local online supplier (www.distrelec.ch, that's in switzerland) the closest I found was one of 10Ω with a nominal power of 3W. And that is where I get lost again.