LED office-desk lighting system

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by kdaffolder, Aug 3, 2009.

1. kdaffolder

Thread Starter New Member

Aug 2, 2009
    Hi, I am a newbie to electronics, and am in need of some help with making a schematic for a hobby project. As the title states, I am wanting to make a LED light system for my home office desk. Below are the requirements that I would like this LED light circuit to implement:

I am planning on mounting these LED strip-lights to the bottom of a shelf, to light the desk. One strip will be white, the second strip will be blue, and the third strip will be green. The LED strips will be exactly 5 ft. long. Please click here to view the LED strip lights I am wanting to use (unless there's something better.) ;)

LED light system main control desktop unit (hopefully small enough to house in a plastic electronics box and affix to the desk):
    I need to have a way of selecting which color series of LED’s I would like to light up at any given time...so, I’m thinking some type of metal contact touch-sensitive button/circuit for each color (ie. when the metal contact/button for “green” is touched, all 6 of the green LED’s light up, and the two other colors do not…when “white” is touched, the white LED’s turn on and are added to the mix. If possible, I would like to be able to have some type of a touch-sensitive contact, button, or circuit (maybe metal?) so that I could control the off & on of each color, that way I can add/subtract colors together, etc. Also, I would like each of the three colors to have a slider or rotary dial/variable resistor that I can use to dim their corresponding color. (ie. when I move the slider connected to the white LED strip, the white LED’s brightness changes so that I can dim or increase their brightness.) Touch-sensitive buttons are of course optional, but would be preferred. I would of course settle for a typical push-button.