LED Lit 7-Segmented Clock

JustinS

Joined Oct 25, 2014
Hey guys I'm a total beginner when it comes to circuitry and the only background I have in it is in highschool physics (further proving my point.)

I want to create a 7-segment clock like the one here:

Except each segment will have several LEDs and will be behind an opaque plastic or glass to evenly distribute the light.

Here is a rudimentary representation of one set of number segments:

Furthermore the LEDs will lead into an arduino board in order to function as a clock. Now my major issue with this project is the circuitry because this will add up the wires fast, and I have almost 0 knowledge of how to do so. Any help would be much appreciated and with time I'll post my progress and any other potential problems!

Also here's a little preview of my envisioned finished project:

adam555

Joined Aug 17, 2013
We did one of those in electronics class; except we used a PC 286 instead of an arduino. If you arrange the LEDs on each segment so they match in the PCB, or tie the leads together if you are going to place them elsewhere, then the only wires you will need are the 7 main ones in that circuit.

Then for the different digits I suggest you connect all the same segments on all the digits together, so you will still only use 7 in total for all; plus 4 more for multiplexing -11 in total-.

You can get those 11 down to half if you use an IC; but I'm not sure you want to do it that way.

Last edited:

JustinS

Joined Oct 25, 2014
Maybe I understated how little my knowledge was but I really don't understand your answer. You saying "7 main ones in that circuit" are you referring to how my picture is laid out because that also ends up with 7 main ones. Then attach all of those to one board, resulting in 4 boards (1 for each digit)? After that you lose me upon mentioning multiplexing and the number 11 lol

adam555

Joined Aug 17, 2013
Maybe this helps: