led light controller

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by cminke, Aug 4, 2015.

1. cminke

Thread Starter Member

Jun 7, 2014
    Hello AAC! This is my first post so don't hate on me if im not an expert on the rules and the formality of the group.
    i would like to make a LED controller unit that has push button input using momentary switches but the ability to program each button independently as a momentary input or a continuous input. Thats the first part. second part is i need an easily programmable chip that can handle switching 3A on 20ch. I understand an Array of mosfets is more appropriate but im trying ton conserve space. Also if anyone has any ideas about a ready made mosfet switch board im all ears. My original idea was to have an adruino control a array of fets but it made complications in connections and reliability. last part im interested in is a type of switch i can use thats small and easy to switch using a low Vin to act as a gate but switch 5 ways. REF: Red Blue Green Amber White. if you have any other opinions im all years

Thank you by the way

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 4, 2015
  2. TheButtonThief

Feb 26, 2011
    I'm not with you on the last part about the switch but I think your best bet is to use an Arduino. If you're not confident in using MOSFETs then why not relay switches? There's no IC that'll allow you to pull 3A through it's outputs but the GPIO of an Arduino will happily drive a 5V relay. Unless your intent is to fade your LED's, in which case you'll definitely need MOSFETs.

3. cminke

Thread Starter Member

Jun 7, 2014
    i would like a dimmer function but not a pwm fade in fade out, only strobe and 50% brightness
    ref:switch i want to be able to on command change to a different set of leds in different colours. without having there own independent fet or relay

4. TheButtonThief

Feb 26, 2011