LED Light board!

KringleFantastico

Joined Jan 19, 2013
Dear all,

Please forgive my ignorance. I am a professional in a completely unrelated field, but completing this project would help me tremendously. I would like create a "simple" LED light board. I have tried poking around on the internet for some help with this, but I am not even sure how to frame the question so that nonspecific results are not returned by google. I am nearly positive that someone has done something like this before, and as such, I would be more than happy to receive direction to similar posts. So... my project is as follows.

I need to make an led light board, with a 10x10 grid of LEDs. The board will be connected to a button for controlling the progress of the lighting scheme. The board will have two modes of function. For the sake of this discussion, the board will be labelled as rows (letters) and columns (numbers). The board should be powered by a smallish battery.

Mode one will light the next LED in sequence upon clicking the button. This means that when the board is turned on, initially position A-1 is lit. Click the button, A-1 turns off, and A-2 turns on. At A-10, the sequence will cycle to B-1. This will continue until J-10, at which point, another click will once again light A-1.

Mode two will light an entire row at one time. So by switching from single cell progression to whole row progression, the board will initially light with row A lit. Upon clicking the button, row A turns off and row B lights up. This continues to J, and again cycles back to A.