LED Light Array Failed

Status
Not open for further replies.

luis84

Joined Jun 8, 2011
Hello all,

I am new here... and I am a computer tech. I have an LED emergency light that I really like. I haven't been able to order a new one since I am in Central America now so I decided to just fix it. It's chinese so of course I can't find any schematic, etc.

The light has 4 batteries connected in a series. It has two switch (a high-low-off switch) and then a pull string power switch. It also has an input from a wall socket.

It stopped working and made a funny smell. I pulled it apart and noticed 2 resistors are burnt, they are to the point where I can't identify their color bands. The burnt ones appear to be the ones that go between the electrical input (wall socket) and the pull string switch. It says never to charge in the on position....... I assume my wife did just that. Best I can tell. The rest of the components seem to be okay.

It's 60 LED lights.

So what are my options here? Any way to guess the value of the resistors? Can I bypass the functionality and somehow route the elctricity directly to LED's? No because it needs to be controlled and filtered right?

Replacing the resistors would fix it but I have no idea WHICH value they are.

Any input or ideas?

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
Unfortunately, you may be out of luck. From what I am seeing, it does not use a transformer. It looks like a capacitive power supply. I must stress that working on such a power supply is dangerous, as there is no isolation between you, and 115V/230V. It's a cheap design. I have used a capacitive power supply in past projects (but never production - that would be a nightmare!), but I have made sure to make the projects completely sealed with no exposed contacts as they could cause a lethal shock, and printed suitable warnings on the PCB, and on the casing. I believe it is prohibited under the TOS here, too, but that is not your only worry.